The Ockham Awards

Since 2012, The Skeptic has had the pleasure of awarding the Ockham Awards – our annual awards celebrating the very best work from within the skeptical community. The awards were founded because we wanted to draw attention to those people who work hard to get a great message out. The Ockhams recognise the effort and time that have gone into the community’s favourite campaigns, activism, blogs, podcasts, and outstanding contributors to the skeptical cause.

Past Ockham winners have have included current contributors to The SkepticProfessor Edzard Ernst and Hayley Stevens, the European Skeptics Podcast and Say WHY To Drugs podcastex-naturopath Britt Hermes for her blog exposing quackery in her former career, the Edinburgh Skeptics for their annual Skeptics on the Fringe event, and Mark Tilbrook for spreading critical thinking about so-called psychics in the face of verbal and physical abuse from ‘Psychic’ Sally Morgan’s management team and family.

While we recognise the best in skepticism, our awards are also an opportunity to highlight the danger posed by promoters of pseudoscience with our Rusty Razor award. The Rusty Razor is designed to spotlight individuals or organisations who have been prominent promoters of unscientific ideas within the last year.

Previous Rusty Razor winners have included Andrew Wakefield for his ongoing promotion of anti-vaxx misinformation, and Gwyneth Paltrow for her pseudoscience-peddling wellness empire, Goop.

One of the most important elements of our awards are that the nominations come from you – the skeptical community. We’d like you to tell us who you think deserves to receive the Skeptic of the Year award, and who deserves to receive the Rusty Razor.

Award for Skeptical Activism

For an individual or organisation who has done outstanding work to promote critical thinking within the last 12 months.

When considering your nomination, we encourage you to think about:

  • Impact : have they brought about change? Have they been active in challenging pseudoscience?
  • Reach : has their message reached a lot of people? Are those people within the skeptical community, or in the wider public?
  • Relevance : have they been actively promoting critical thinking within the last year?

The Rusty Razor

For an individual or organisation who has been the most prominent promoter of unscientific ideas in the last 12 months.

When considering your nomination, we encourage you to think about:

  • Pseudoscience : how far from sound are the ideas, products or theories they are promoting?
  • Reach : has their message reached a lot of people?
  • Harm : have the ideas led to, or been likely to lead to, a great deal of harm to the public?
  • Relevance : have they been actively promoting pseudoscience within the last year?

Submit your nominations now!

Nominees and winners from previous years:

Latest news

Are digital pregnancy tests simply taking the pee?

Digital pregnancy tests might look like another example of expensive e-waste, but we should look more carefully about their use and accessibility before we rush to condemn.

Conspiracy theorists, anti-vaxxers and alt-med quackery put our pets in harm’s way

Vet Danny Chambers highlights how the aggressive promotion of alternative therapies to prevent and treat animal diseases has become widespread.

‘Mask Mouth’: A real dental phenomenon, or merely a confection?

Dentist Shaun Sellars looks at recent reports of facemasks causing a new dental phenomenon known as 'mask mouth'.

The Ockham Awards 2020: recognising the best in skepticism, and the worst in pseudoscience

Nominations for the 2020 Ockham Awards are now open, with our annual award for Skeptical Activism and our Rusty Razor award for pseudoscience.

Don’t believe what you think!

What follows is a slightly modified and abbreviated version of the introduction to Professor Edzard Ernst's recently published book, Don't Believe What...